From bonafide working groups regarding Deep Dialogue

Dec 14, 2022 | Statements by the RA and the Working groups

Dear community,

We would like to share with you an email we sent yesterday to the Synthesis team, Dena and Raghu regarding their planned follow-up on a “deep dialogue” process.
This is for your information.

The Working Groups selected by the Residents’ Assembly

Dear Synthesis Team,

Dear Dena and Raghu,

It has come to our attention that you are planning further steps in your explorations on Deep Dialog with more people in the coming week.

While we are always open to constructive and open dialog, we would like to make you aware that we have conducted a survey to get a sense of what a larger and wider part of the community feels would be a base for such a process and explorations. We are currently awaiting the results and report of the survey, which will give everyone better insight into how a number of residents (approx. 250) would like to proceed with such explorations in general. It is important that the purpose and outcome of the survey are respected as a step towards building trust in the community on further processes of dialog.

Therefore, at this time, we consider it inappropriate for us as working groups selected by the Residents’ Assembly to further engage in any such process or officially endorse any further exploration as it would undermine the intention of the survey. Additionally, from our point of view, any individual exploration and dialogs with you can only be seen as the views of those individuals, and outcomes or proposals from those explorations would need to be brought to the wider community for feedback and suggestions before, as a community, any kind of agreed-upon action could be considered for implementation.

We feel this is an important step and part of the process in building trust within the community, and towards the Governing Board and International Advisory Council, and expect you in your personal and professional capacity to respect this.

If you feel like you need to know more about any of this, please do not hesitate to contact any of us.


The Working Committee selected by the RA – Aravinda, Bharathy, Chali, Hemant, Mael, Sauro, Valli

L’avenir d’Auroville/The Town Development Council (TDC) selected by the RA – Allan B, Anan, Divya L, Dorle, Fabian, Island, Lata, Meera N, Natasha S, Tom G

The Funds and Assets Management Committee (FAMC) – Amy B, Bobby P, Elodie, Danny, Mita R, Palani

The Auroville Council – Balaji, Claudine, Julia, Philippe, Samrat, Shiva, Shivaya, Suryan, Svenja