About new Aurovilians not entered into the Register of Residents

Dec 20, 2022 | Register of Residents, Statements by the RA and the Working groups

Dear Community,

We would like to inform you that it has come to our attention that there are over 100 individuals who have completed their Newcomer process and been announced as Confirmed Aurovilians but who have not been invited to meet the Secretary and therefore have not yet been entered into the Register of Residents (RoR). Some of these individuals have been waiting for over a year.

On the 23rd November 2022, the Working Committee selected by the Residents’ Assembly sent a letter to the Secretary bringing this to her attention and requesting her to take action to complete the process of entering these new Aurovilians into the RoR as a matter of urgency. No response was received thus far.

We would like to clarify that those residents who have completed their Newcomer process and have been confirmed as Aurovilians by the Entry Board, even if not entered into the Register of Residents, are members of the Auroville community and are welcome to participate in Residents’ Assembly Decision-making processes (as per the current RAD policy). The responsibility of admitting people into Auroville and the Register of Residents rests solely with the RA as per the Auroville Foundation Act, 1988, Section 19(2):

“The Residents’ Assembly may: (a) allow the admission or cause the termination of persons in the register of residents in accordance with the regulations made under section 32;”

In our view, the status of those having been accepted by the Residents’ Assembly, through its Newcomer process and by its Entry Board (aka Admissions Committee), cannot be undermined by a lack of diligence from the Office of the Secretary in carrying out what is simply an administrative task.

We urge those who are still waiting for their B-forms to be signed by the Secretary and for their names to be entered into the RoR to write to or visit the Foundation Office to remind them to complete this step and request reasons for the delay.

In community,

Auroville Council (Balaji, Claudine, Julia, Philippe, Samrat, Shiva, Shivaya, Suryan, Svenja)

Working Committee selected by the RA (Aravinda, Bharathy, Chali, Hemant, Maël, Sauro, Valli)