Important information about the Working Committee

May 30, 2022 | Blog, Organisation & governance

There is some contradicting information being spread about the Working Committee, and who is entitled to select it. Below are some clarifications:


Who can constitute the Working Committee?

The term of office (how long members are in the Working Committee) as well as the governance (under whose authority it runs) of the Working Committee of the Residents’ Assembly of the Auroville Foundation is decided by the Residents Assembly, according to the Auroville Foundation Act, 1988.

Section 20:

(2) The Working Committee shall consist of not more than seven members to be chosen by the Residents’ Assembly from among themselves.

(3) The manner of choosing the members of the Working Committee and their term of office shall be such as may be decided by the Residents’ Assembly

After the RAD on the constitution of the Working Committee, results were published on May 11th, the Working Committee of the Residents’ Assembly has 3 members (Chali (ToS), Hemant, Sauro), 3 interim members (Elisa, Jürgen, Gilles), and 2 announced resource persons (Ranjith and Raju).

To know more about Auroville Foundation organisation:

Auroville Foundation Act: